cranberries!

Hott for sure, but not the kind of cranberries I’m writing about today.

That’s more like it.

I went to the grocery store last night in order to pick up the fixins for breakfast burritos. While wandering through produce, what should I come upon but cranberries!

It is officially my favorite time of year when these little babies show up. It means the heat of summer is officially over and we’re looking forward to fall and winter. The leaves are crunchy and scattered about and pumpkins in the field are being harvested.

I wish I could find my pictures from my trip to New Jersey last October. My Momma lives minutes away from some beautiful cranberry bogs and when we were there last year we were able to see some of the aftermath of the harvest. I’ll be the first to admit I picked up a few of the strays and munched on them right then and there.

And yes, I am the kind of person who can eat cranberries raw and unsweetened. They have such a satisfying pop when you bite into them and the sour/tart is only made better by crunching through the little ventricles with all the tiny, tiny seeds.

It is cranberry season and I am a happy girl.

walk in beauty,

Kirsten

About 99counties99pounds

I love my body and I love Iowa. This is where my two loves meet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

